Asia News Breaking News World News Multimedia News: The Asia Live

Singapore approves 9 countries to travel lanes

Singapore is preparing to add 9 countries to its “travel lanes” scheme that approves vaccinated visitors to enter the city-state besides the want for quarantine.

The authorities said the scheme, which used to be added last month for Brunei and Germany, will be expanded to Britain, Canada, Denmark, France, Italy, the Netherlands, South Korea, Spain, and the United States next month.

Transport Minister S Iswaran said travelers from those countries are required “to current verifiable and authenticated digital proof of vaccination as a precondition for entry”.

Most of the 11 nations on the listing are already open to travelers from Singapore.

Singapore has already reopened its borders to visitors from mainland China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and Macau, which are deemed very low-risk.

“While still, a ways cry from where we have been pre-Covid, this is a significant step in the reopening of our borders, and crucial to reclaiming and rebuilding our status as an global aviation hub with international connectivity,” Mr. Iswaran said.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong went on television on Saturday to tell residents it used to be time to move on and learn to live with Covid-19 without being paralyzed by fear.

The city-state can’t stay “locked down and closed off indefinitely”, he said, including that it could take three to six months to get to a new normal.

On Friday, Singapore reported 3,580 new Covid-19 cases, the highest number of each day infections so far, raising its total to 120,454, with 142 fatalities, since the first case early last year.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published., pub-3489663948110909, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0